I am going to my neighborhood library today

so much of everything in ma city rises and falls on money
BUT
where it floats and lands depends on one’s definition of wealth

case in point,
I have accepted full responsibility as the only openly (b)lack I know who has lived in my Belltown neighborhood for 15 years for (W)hite trash not being recyclable in downtown Seattle’s government and business offices.

no no no
it IS my fault. 
and here’s why

I cannot afford a subscription to the myriad of invisible velvet ropes strung about to delineate color lines, political denominations and religious partitions 
YET
I speak as I live
that being
BLACK ARTISTIC SOUL!  

a subscription would allow for neat little square boxes with attached checklists so that I would know who to tolerate when and how they tolerate me.

so when the server at the library cafe barks orders about where she thinks her pointy hand will make me stand, my inner pirate wouldn’t be disgusted by the notion of a wench with access to the till.

I would instead pity her because it must be so hard having a clinton-era welfare-to-work job sans barista title while Monica does Vanity Fair.

I am going to my neighborhood’s public library to collect a book now available from a hold request.  While there amma chillax in the  ‘Living Room’ section, enjoy some music and eavesdrop on a conversation or two.

All the while living with the fact that this city’s color code requires black be garbage.

image

~ by brokepimpstyles on May 16, 2014.

Leave a Reply

